NATO delegation (D-NAT)

The European Parliament decided on 12 December 2001 to set up an inter-parliamentary Delegation for Relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (D-NAT). The delegation is composed of 10 MEPs (Members of the European Parliament).

D-NAT Members shall consist of Members of the Subcommittee on Security and Defence (SEDE). The D-NAT is supported by a secretariat which consists of staff members of the SEDE secretariat.

The aim of the D-NAT is to bring forward the position of the EU, and of the European Parliament in particular, to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in view of further developing the relationship between EU and NATO, while respecting the independent nature of both organisations. This is of particular importance in the theatres of operations where both the EU and NATO are engaged, such as Afghanistan, Kosovo and in the fight against piracy off the coasts of Somalia and in the Gulf of Aden.

The delegation for relations with the NATO PA took part in the Spring Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly on 28 May – 1 June 2010 in Riga, Latvia.

In 2002, NATO’s military command structure was reorganised at the Prague Summit.

One strategic command focus on NATO’s operations – Allied command operations – and the other would be focused on transforming NATO – Allied Command transformation (ACT). ACT focuses on areas such as training and education, concept development, comprehensive approach, experimentation, and research and technology and using NATO’s ongoing operations and work with the NATO Response Force (NRF) to improve the military effectiveness of the Alliance. It has the following strategic objectives: provide appropriate support to NATO missions and operations, lead NATO military transformation, improve relationships, interaction and practical cooperation with partners, nations and international organisations.

Find out more on NATO from:

More information can be found on the D-NAT Infokit:

Find NATO Parliamentary Assembly’s Report on Climate Change discussed in Riga: